SoulBuffet.com [blog]

Testing, testing … is this thing on yet? March 31, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — soulbuffet.com @ 2:31 am

We’re only three months into 2010, and it’s been a wild ride already.  I’m not sure it’s what I would have chosen if life here on Planet Chris went exactly as I had planned, but I’ll take it!

At the end of 2009, I had a major-market radio programming job, doing two radio stations for a large corporation, and my son was working on a pretty good substance abuse problem on top of being self-destructive after being hospitalized for anxiety and depression twice during the fall.  I had started the job in March, but my wife and son and I hadn’t moved together into our new house in Ohio, after moving from Georgia, until around Halloween.  So, it was a very tough, confusing, frustrating time.

The day I got let go from my radio job turned out to be the day my kid decided to get serious about being clean and sober.  And we found a new psychiatrist who understood what was going on with him and got him stabilized on the right medication.  And, and, and … long story short, I lost my gig and I regained my son, and I would do that deal any day of the week.

So here I am, starting a new business.  It’s one that a woman I know in Atlanta gave me a hint of almost two years ago.  And it’s one where I woke up from a dream with the business plan, practically word for word.  On top of that … I don’t remember dreams.  Every few months, I’ll wake up with a flash of whatever it was I was dreaming about, but that’s it.  To wake up in the middle of the night with a full awareness of what I needed to do is … spooky.

“Alternative Energy Practitioners.”  That’s what I’m calling the folks who work to tap into and interpret things beyond what our five senses can pick up … spiritual healers, intuitives, astrologers, psychics, tarot readers, and others in that field.  I’ve known those folks and known people who patronized them.  And I’m building a community for them all.

Being online opens up all sorts of possibilities.  If you’re looking for a reading of one sort or another, often you don’t need to be in the same place at the same time with the person you’re working with.  But there’s no great place to look for alternative energy practitioners.  Also, those practitioners are usually not the best at marketing themselves!

I believe that we can all live lives that are more satisfying and fun if we take more responsibility for our spiritual health.  Emphasis on the “fun,” because we can do it together.  In later posts, I’ll go into more about what this business is going to be like to work with … both as a practitioner, and as someone just interested in the subject.

 

Leave a Reply

