SoulBuffet.com [blog]

Do You Read Me? March 31, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — soulbuffet.com @ 4:38 pm

So I’ve been working on the new site, and also on keeping myself open to what I’m hearing from outside of myself. 

I’ve loved working in radio, but it’s time to move on … in part because, I believe, there’s a lot about radio that distracts us from ourselves.  We turn it on for a momentary break from the boredom, or the pain, or the frustration, or the overwhelming-ness of everyday life.

For years, I’ve taken pride in being able to drug you like that.  It’s resulted in great ratings for my employers, allowing our sales people to sell commercials at solid rates.  And listeners would tell me they really enjoyed what we were doing on the air.  That meant a lot.

But I’m just in a different place now.  I admire those who do a good job on the air or behind the scenes in radio.  However, my life has become much more about seeing … listening … and feeling inside me and around me to pick up on what’s REALLY going on … not just covering it up with some pleasantly escapist audio.

My radio friends are gonna hate that I say that.  And, again, I don’t mean to trash them or burn any bridges.  We just get to different points in life where we need to move on.  Over all my adult years, there’ve been times when I distracted myself with drugs … with food … with wine … with overworking … with different forms of drama … with depression and anxiety … and even with religious and spiritual practices. 

Yeah, I didn’t like it when going to church didn’t cause me to be happy.  I dabbled in eastern thought with the idea that I could be interesting and Buddhist enough to have a fun, never-painful life. 

Didn’t work.

So I’ve come to the conclusion that what other people do or say … or who other people are … will ultimately have no long-term impact on ourselves, unless we let them. 

That’s one big reason why I want to start soulbuffet.com.  Ultimately, we come into this world alone, and we go out alone.  I believe we all have a big ol’ spiritual connection to each other … like many religions teach (but not in so many words), we’re immortal spirits hanging around in temporary earth suits … but it’s up to each of us to figure out what that connection is for us. 

We need to take responsibility for our own spirituality. 

That sounds much more like boot camp than it really is.  Yeah, it’s tough to squarely look in the eyes what troubles us or upsets us.  Or scares us.  Or marginalizes us.  But ultimately … it’s liberating.  And so many of us feel trapped.

You might feel trapped.  I’m sorry if you do.  People feel trapped in different ways. 

I’m hoping to encourage all of us to get in touch with our ability to intuit our lives and our purpose by creating a space for those who are already providing that service for folks.  I’m not a psychic, I don’t do astrology charts, and I forget what most tarot cards mean.  But I think there are a lot of ways to “read” others and ourselves … to tap into the energy of our spirit which doesn’t get measured by the five senses we all agree on.

More on that to come.  In the meantime, big ol’ fat blessings on you as we move through what’s a holy week for so many of us.

 

Leave a Reply

